21 December 2023


The European Commission has updated its Provisional List of National Competent Authorities (NCAs) for the Carbon Border Adjustment Mechanism (CBAM), adding two new authorities for Spain and Slovenia. With these additions, Germany remains the only European Member State yet to appoint its National Competent Authority.

NCAs will play a crucial role in granting authorisation to importers established in their respective Member States, allowing them access to the CBAM Transitional Registry. This registry, developed by the Commission, facilitates reporting by declarants in compliance with their CBAM obligations. It is set to be fully operational in time for importers to begin submitting their initial CBAM reports from 1 January 2024.

The Commission plans to regularly update this provisional list of NCAs as notifications are received from Member States, and will publish the final list in the Official Journal of the European Union. Additionally, the details of the NCAs will be made accessible in the CBAM Transitional Registry.

Furthermore, the Commission’s CBAM information page now includes a new set of questions and answers in their Q&A section, several of which were contributed by CLECAT.